Springbok Sevens return to action

Sep 14 • International, World Rugby • 1352 Views • Comments Off on Springbok Sevens return to action

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Paul TreuThe Springbok Sevens return to action this week at the Middelburg Sevens as part of their preparations for next month’s Commonwealth Games in Delhi, India.

Paul Treu, SA Sevens coach, and his management team have put their charges through a rigorous fitness programme at their base camp in Stellenbosch and the next step in the preparation phase is to test the players in proper match-like conditions.

In order to do this, the team will play on 17 and 18 September in the annual Middelburg Sevens tournament in Mpumalanga, where Treu will also conduct a coaching clinic on Thursday in conjunction with the Pumas.

Furthermore, the SA squad have also confirmed their participation as one of several international outfits to play in the inaugural Platinum Sevens from 24 to 26 September at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Complex in Rustenburg.
The Platinum Sevens has a real international flavour with the participation of eight international teams, 16 local provincial and club teams plus 32 school outfits, making it one of the biggest Sevens events on African soil.

Treu returned recently from two visits overseas; from Australia where he visited several Aussie rules and rugby league clubs to familiarise himself with their various training methods, and from London where he attended an IRB Sevens workshop.

Meanwhile, the SA squad will be missing the services of its captain Kyle Brown. Brown is suffering from a hamstring injury and will be replaced by the experienced Marius Schoeman. Paul Delport and Siyanda Grey will also travel with the squad.

Brown’s injury follows the setback of Frankie Horne, the 2009 SA Sevens Player of the Year, who will be out of action for up to 12 weeks after he suffered a broken arm during last month’s Middlesex Sevens in the UK.
The Springbok Sevens squad to play in the warm-up tournaments in Rustenburg and Middelburg as well as the Commonwealth Games in India

(SARU contracted unless stipulated):

Boom Prinsloo (Free State), Chris Dry, Marius Schoeman, Chase Minnaar, Lubabalo Mtembu (The Sharks), Cecil Afrika, Renfred Dazel, Branco du Preez (Blue Bulls), Ryno Benjamin, Sibusiso Sithole (The Sharks), Bernado Botha (Golden Lions), MJ Mentz, Paul Deport, Siyanda Grey (EP).
Issued by SARU Communications

Related Posts

« »