TMO and referees made correct decision with Potgieter penalty

Sep 14 • National • 1354 Views • Comments Off on TMO and referees made correct decision with Potgieter penalty

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)
Loading...

Media BoxWhen is a kick at goal good?

There has been some discussion relating to a penalty kick that match officials ruled wide by Jacques-Louis Potgieter for the Vodacom Blue Bulls against the Vodacom Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday. There has been some commentary that the officials erred.

The kick has been reviewed by the Referees’ Department of SARU, which has confirmed that the correct decision was made.

For media information, the Law requires that in order for a kick to be successful the ball must go over the cross bar (Law 9.A.2 (b)) and, therefore, between the posts or the continued imaginary line of the posts.

When the ball passes over the top of an upright it is deemed not to have crossed the cross bar and cannot be awarded. In this example the ball passed over the top of the upright and was therefore ruled to have missed.

For further information contact:
André Watson
Manager: Referees

Related Posts

« »