Storm team to face Canterbury

Sep 6 • General News, New Zealand • 3176 Views • Comments Off on Storm team to face Canterbury

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 5.00 out of 5)

Women’s Provincial Championship

Saturday, September 7

Western Springs Stadium

Kick-off 12.30pm


Auckland Storm coach Kallum Adams has named a strong line up to face Canterbury in their opening match of the 2013 Women’s Provincial Championship.


The experienced team featured 13 current or former Black Ferns and will be captained by Emma Jensen at halfback.


Alongside the vast experience, four players are set to make their debut tomorrow, with Claire Richardson and Naite Faitaia-Mariner starting in the back line, Charlotte Scanlan and Chanel Wright are set to come off the bench.


“We’re really pleased with the team that will run out tomorrow, they are the right combination of players to get the job done,” said Adams.


The Storm will look to their forward pack to lead the way, with seven of the pack in the current Black Ferns squad.


Adams said despite the obvious experience of the Storm pack he expects a huge battle up front.


“Canterbury like a confrontational game and have always been strong in the forwards. But the players thrive on that sort of pressure so if we can dominate at set piece we will go well,” said Adams.


The match will be the Storm’s first defence of the JJ Stewart Trophy for 2013, dubbed the Ranfurly Shield of women’s rugby, it must be put on the line at every home match.


The Auckland Storm team is

  1. Leilani Perese (Manurewa)
  2. Fiaoo Faamausili (Marist)
  3. Karina Stowers (Marist)
  4. Vita Dryden (College Rifles)
  5. Eloise Blackwell (Ponsonby)
  6. Lydia Crossman (College Rifles)
  7. Charmaine McMenamin (Ponsonby)
  8. Justine Lavea (Marist)
  9. Emma Jensen – Captain (College Rifles)
  10. Nicole Borthwick (College Rifles)
  11. Marina Apfel (Ponsonby)
  12. Onjeurlina Leiataua (Marist)
  13. Claire Richardson (College Rifles)
  14. Naite Faitaia-Mariner (Marist)
  15. Mele Hufanga (Marist)
  16. Aldora Itunu (Ponsonby)
  17. Aleisha Nelson (Ponsonby)
  18. Carlene Halapua (College Rifles)
  19. Charlotte Scanlan (Ponsonby)
  20. Kiritapu Demant (College Rifles)
  21. Chanel Wright (Ponsonby)
  22. Johana Su’a (Marist)

Related Posts

« »