Team Release – Griffons vs. Cell C Sharks XV

May 4 • General News • 3174 Views • Comments Off on Team Release – Griffons vs. Cell C Sharks XV

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

Griffons vs. Cell C Sharks XV

Date : Saturday, 6 May 2017
Time : 15h00
Venue HT Pelatona Projects Stadium, Welkom
Referee Lourens van der Merwe


Following their bye in the Supersport Rugby Challenge last week, the Cell C Sharks XV are back in action as they travel to Welkom for a tricky match against the Griffons on Saturday afternoon.

They will be looking to put in a big performance after a tough start to the competition a fortnight ago and a side showing plenty of experience has been selected for this match.

This experience should complement the youthful exuberance and energy levels of the younger players in the team.

The Griffons have a won-one-lost-one record, with a victory over Free State last week and a loss in week one to the Leopards.

In changes from the opening match, Khaya Majola shifts from the eighth man to flank with Wian Vosloo making his way onto the bench to allow for Keegan Daniel to make his way back into full contact rugby after a lengthy spell on the sidelines for injury rehabilitation.

Daniel’s experience and leadership at a top level for The Sharks mean he has been handed the vice-captaincy with Odwa Ndungane wearing the captain’s armband.

He also played the leadership role in the opening game against Griquas, although he played last week for the Cell C Sharks in their Vodacom Super Rugby clash against the Jaguares in Argentina.

Benhard Janse van Rensburg takes over from Danrich Visagie at flyhalf while there are further changes amongst the backs with Garth April replacing Courtney Winnaar at fullback.

Returning from injury and adding great experience off the bench is French International, Clement Poitrenaud.

The match is scheduled for a 3 pm kick-off at HT Pelatona Projects Stadium in Welkom on Saturday.

Cell C Sharks XV
1.            Juan Schoeman
2.            Stephan Coetzee
3.            John-Hubert Meyer
4.            Jean Droste
5.            Hyron Andrews
6.            Khaya Majola
7.            Jacques Vermeulen
8.            Keegan Daniel (v/c)
9.            Damian Stevens
10.          Benhard Janse van Rensburg
11.          Morne Joubert
12.          Marius Louw
13.          S’bura Sithole
14.          Odwa Ndungane (c)
15.          Garth April

16.          Kerron van Vuuren
17.          Gerhard Engelbrecht
18.          Rikus Zwart
19.          Wian Vosloo
20.          Rowan Gouws
21.          Tristan Blewett
22.          Clement Poitrenaud

Related Posts

« »