Young Australians ready for New Zealand challenge 

May 7 • Australia, General News, International • 1619 Views • Comments Off on Young Australians ready for New Zealand challenge 

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (No Ratings Yet)

The Australian U20’s side has been named for Saturday’s Oceania Rugby Junior Championship final against New Zealand at Bond University, where rising Queensland Reds number 8 Adam Korcyzk will make his first appearance for Australia in the tournament.

Returning from a successful tour of South Africa with the Reds, Korcyzk will add more Asteron Life Super Rugby experience to the Australian side as they look to overcome New Zealand for the first time at U20’s level.

Captain Andrew Kellaway from the NSW Waratahs returns to the starting 15 having played off the bench in Australia’s victory against Japan.

Australian U20’s Head Coach Adrian Thompson has backed his side to perform:

“The side we have picked to play New Zealand is a very strong group of 23 players.

“We had the opportunity to trial and test players in positions in our match against Japan and the team we have settled on for this match has the capability to win the Oceania Rugby Junior Championship.

“We are aware of the challenge of beating New Zealand, but it’s a challenge the team is really looking forward to,” said Thompson. 

With Qantas Australian Sevens squad member Brad Wilkin ruled out of the match with a hamstring injury, Thompson was happy to see Adam Korczyk return from duties with the Queensland Reds.

“Adam has already proven he is a rising talent in our pathways system having come through Australian Schoolboys, Queensland U20’s and through the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship with Brisbane City.

“He has played well when given his opportunity for the Queensland Reds and he will add much to our game on Saturday.”

The match kicks off at 3pm EST on Saturday (9 May) and will be streamed live through

Australian U20’s side to play New Zealand:
1. Cameron Orr
2. Connal McInerney
3. Matt Sandall
4. Riley Winter
5. Lukhan Lealaiauloto-Tui
6. Ned Hannigan
7. Michael Gunn
8. Adam Korcyzk
9. James Tuttle
10. Andrew Deegan
11. Joey Fittock
12. Duncan Paia’aua
13. Andrew Kellaway (c)
14. Tyson Davis
15. Alex Newsome

16. Folau Faaingaa
17. Fereti Saaga
18. Tyrel Lomax
19. Sam Croke
20. Jack McCalman
21. Harry Nucifora
22. James Dalgleish
23. Sione Tuipolotu

Related Posts

« »